Obituaries

Alyene Wiggins

OAKLAND —  Alyene Wiggins, age 85, passed away Tuesday, March 13, at her home in Oakland.
Graveside services were 1 p.m. Thursday, March 15, at Springhill Cemetery.  Newsom Funeral Home had charge.


Alice Johnson

CHARLESTON —  Alice Sue Hollingsworth Johnson, age 91, homemaker, passed away, Friday, March 9, at Tallahatchie General Hospital’s Extended Care Facility.



Edgar Burns Sr.

CHARLESTON —  Edgar Ellis “Buddy” Burns, Sr. age 87, passed away Thursday, March 8, at Fox Bridge Assisted Living in Memphis.
Funeral services were 11 a.m. Monday, March 12, at Newsom Funeral Home chapel with interment following in Memory Gardens in Memphis.


Walter Ahrens Jr.

CHARLESTON — Walter Norris "Scooter" Ahrens, Jr., age 65, passed away peacefully at the Baptist Memorial Hospital-North Mississippi Tuesday, March 6. He was surrounded by his children, sisters and mother.




Charles McAtee

OAKLAND  —  Services for Charles J. McAtee will be held 2 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 15,  at Williams & Lord Funeral Home in Ruleville.
Mr. McAtee, age 90, died on Monday, Feb. 12, at his home in Oakland.



Virginia Grissom

CLARKSDALE —  Virgie Guest Grissom was born November 16, 1924 in Webster County.
She had two sisters and three brothers, all have gone to be with God. She was married to Loyal W. Grissom on March 8, 1943. They were married 54 years.Loyal passed away Dec. 8, 1996.


Sondra Ross

CHARLESTON — Sondra Ann Ross, age 59, passed away Friday, Feb. 2,  at Methodist Central Hospital in Memphis. 



Fay Porter

CHARLESTON —   Fay Porter, age 89, formerly of Hernando passed away Thursday, Jan. 25.
Funeral services were 3 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 28, at  Adams Arbor Church of God of Prophecy near Charleston with interment following in Adams Arbor Cemetery.


Virginia Clolinger

CHARLESTON —  Virginia Ledford Clolinger, age 98, widow of Earnest Clolinger,  passed away Wednesday, Jan. 31, at the home of her daughter, Bonnie Porter, in Brazil. 


Pages

Obituaries

CHARLESTON — Charley Lee Williams, age 64, passed away at his home Tuesday, April 17.